part323 Mauris’s take on things


Monday, 28th, 2011. Another day of rest, we talked to Mauris when he got back from work, the subject quickly moved to Maoris. Mauris has Maori blood in him, he spoke about how in his tribe his decadence were the ones who kept the fire going on the boat when the Maoris went to sea, it was an important job “ it gets handed down the generations, if there is a daughter then it skips until a boy is born”. Mauris described how it’s a duty to keep the fire alive and he feels he is responsible for where his tribe is headed “in my view there are two types of Maori people, The real Maori, who are great people, work hard, you couldn’t meet a better person and then there are what I call Hories, they are stupid lazy buggers who don’t do shit all and spend their lives on benefits and getting ginto trouble”.

This subject of benefits had reared its head again “if you put Maoris in the army it brings out the best in them, when they get the respect, the feeling of being a team like a tribe they excel. They are tribal people” Mauris went on. He spoke about how the influx of Indian people into NZ is crippling the country and is heading for disaster “there is a huge temple in Te puke built by Indians, it has high walls and bells ringing all the time, it’s noisy as hell, the neighbors around that area thought ‘bugger this we are off’ so they moved out, and guess what happened? The Indians bought the houses, they are sneaky and clever”

“ not so long ago we used to be able to do business with just a shake of the hand but these days we have to write up contracts, dot the I’s and cross the t’s otherwise they will have you. it’s a shame”

I thought about what Mauris had said and examined my own thoughts. When I am out and about and I see a large group of Indian men, when I see them coming towards me or when they loiter around I feel unsettled. I don’t feel comfortable, but thinking about it for a while longer I realized it’s the same with any large group of young men, be they from any race, I know in the UK if I pass a large group of men on the street I am also aware that there could be trouble. The things Mauris said sounded convincing but it doesn’t mean he is right and this speech has been read to me far too many times for my liking since I have come to NZ. It’s the sort of thing you hear in the UK from ignorant daily mail readers who complain about foreigners stealing our jobs yet refuse to do the jobs which the foreigners do.

There is clearly something amiss in NZ, an underlying tension which you cannot see on the streets but comes out in a flash behind closed doors.

Leave a Reply

